Intermediate Powerboat Certificate

Overview

Course Title: Irish Sailing Intermediate Powerboat Course

Accreditation: Irish Sailing (Irish Qualification)

Course duration: 2 days

Course Times: 9.30am-5pm

Cost: €370

Bring friends or family on day long excursions aboard a powerboat in confidence and competent you’ll cope with anything that comes up along the way. We’ll teach you how to plan enjoyable coastal passages including developing navigation, pilotage and boat handling skills. At the end of the course, you’ll receive the Irish Sailing Intermediate Powerboat Certificate.

What’s covered?

This is a perfect course for those who wish to further their navigation and practical powerboating abilities as well as for those who undertake day trips away from their home port. The course lasts two days and covers;

  • Planning and executing a coastal day trip
  • Interpreting tidal and weather information
  • Boat Handling in rougher weather
  • Use of electronic aids to navigation, and what to do when they fail
  • Application of IRPCS, VHF radio procedures
  • Safety Skills, including Man Over Board skills

Course Pre-requisits

You must hold an Irish Sailing National Powerboat Certificate. You can also hold an equivalent qualification with 20 hours driving experience. It’s also strongly recommended to have navigation ability to the standard of the Coastal Navigation for Small Boats course, as well as holding a VHF SRC Radio certificate and First Aid certificate.

An assessment at the beginning of the course may be required at our discretion. This is to ensure that all participants are at an appropriate skill level to absorb new knowledge and skills.

Our cancellation policy for this course can be viewed here.

Courses run on from 9.30am to 5.00am each day. Courses have 6 places unless indicated otherwise.

To book this course:

Step 1:  Online payment, after which you will receive an email confirmation with a link to an online form.

Step 2:  Submission of the online form.

Your course booking will only be secured once both steps are completed.

Clear

Course Dates

Course Date Spaces Left?

Course 1: 18-19 February

Saturday 18th February 2023 - Sunday 19th February 2023

3

Course 2: 25-26 March

Saturday 25th March 2023 - Sunday 26th March 2023

6

Course 3: 15-16 April

Saturday 15th April 2023 - Sunday 16th April 2023

6

Course 4: 10-11 June

Saturday 10th June 2023 - Sunday 11th June 2023

6

Course 5: 15-16 July

Saturday 15th July 2023 - Sunday 16th July 2023

6

Course 6: 22-23 July

Saturday 22nd July 2023 - Sunday 23rd July 2023

6

Course 7: 26-27 August

Saturday 26th August 2023 - Sunday 27th August 2023

6

Course 8: 14-15 October

Saturday 14th October 2023 - Sunday 15th October 2023

6

Course 9: 11-12 November

Saturday 11th November 2023 - Sunday 12th November 2023

6

    Got a question?

    Reviews

    star rating  Really lovely staff, super friendly. Would highly recommend the kayak and paddle board rentals! Great with a small group or big group.

    megancV1820DD
    June 25, 2020

    star rating  I have just done the RYA Competent Crew course here, five-days aboard the 36-foot Beaufort Venture under the guidance of instructor Gary Curran. The whole week surpassed my expectations, and... read more

    PatrickKinsella
    July 1, 2017

    star rating  I have just done the RYA Competent Crew course here, five-days aboard the 36-foot Beaufort Venture under the guidance of instructor Gary Curran. The whole week surpassed my expectations, and... read more

    PatrickKinsella
    June 1, 2017