Competent Crew

Our Competent Crew course is designed to give persons the ability to effectively and safely crew on a modern cruising boat.  The course is 5 days long. We highly recommend taking the Start Sailing course prior to this course. Please note this course is non-residential.

Experience really get to know the boat. Virtually all the course is hands on. You are the crew – without you the sails won’t go up and the boat won’t be steered.

By the end of the course you should be able to steer, handle sails, keep a lookout, row a dinghy and assist in all the day to day duties on board. You will have also enjoyed some enjoyable and scenic anchorages along the East Coast of Ireland and had an enjoyable holiday.

Syllabus

The course covers the RYA Competent Crew syllabus.

  • Knowledge of sea terms and parts of a boat, her rigging and sails
  • Sail handling
  • Ropework
  • Fire precautions and fighting
  • Personal safety equipment
  • Man overboard
  • Emergency equipment
  • Manners and customs
  • Rules of the road
  • Dinghies & tenders
  • Metrology
  • Seasickness
  • Helmsmanship and sailing
  • General duties

There are two options for the 5-day courses, either Monday to Friday or over two weekends. All courses meet at Dun Laoghaire Marina at 9.30am on first day of course.  The finish times of the course each day will vary depending on destinations and weather conditions.

Our cancellation policy for this course can be viewed here.

To book this course:

Step 1:  Online payment, after which you will receive an email confirmation with a link to an online form.

Step 2:  Submission of the online form.

Your course booking will only be secured once both steps are completed.

Clear

This course is held on board either our Elan 36 ‘Beaufort Venture’ or our First 36 ‘Lulla Belle’. Both are 36-foot cruising yachts with 6 berths, full kitchen including stove and fridge, as well as toilet and shower facilities.

We provide foul weather waterproofs and lifejackets.

Courses Calendar

Course Date Spaces Left?

Course 9

Friday 6th May - Sunday 15th May

FINISHED

Course 10

Monday 9th May - Friday 13th May

FINISHED

Course 11

Friday 20th May - Sunday 29th May

FINISHED

Course 12

Monday 23rd May - Friday 27th May

FINISHED

Course 13

Monday 30th May - Friday 3rd June

FINISHED

Course 14

Saturday 4th June - Sunday 12th June

FINISHED

Course 15

Friday 17th June - Sunday 26th June

FINISHED

Course 16

Monday 20th June - Friday 24th June

FINISHED

Course 17

Friday 1st July - Sunday 10th July

FINISHED

Course 18

Monday 4th July - Friday 8th July

FINISHED

Course 19

Friday 15th July - Sunday 24th July

FINISHED

Course 20

Monday 18th July - Friday 22nd July

FINISHED

Course 21

Friday 29th July - Sunday 7th August

FINISHED

Course 22

Monday 1st August - Friday 5th August

FINISHED

Course 23

Friday 12th August - Sunday 21st August

FINISHED

Course 24

Monday 15th August - Friday 19th August

FINISHED

Course 25

Friday 26th August - Sunday 4th September

FINISHED

Course 26

Monday 29th August - Friday 2nd September

FINISHED

Course 27

Friday 9th September - Sunday 18th September

FINISHED

Course 28

Monday 12th September - Friday 16th September

FINISHED

Course 29

Friday 23rd September - Sunday 2nd October

FINISHED

Course 30

Monday 26th September - Friday 30th September

FINISHED

Course 31

Friday 7th October - Sunday 16th October

IN PROGRESS

Course 32

Monday 10th October - Friday 14th October

1

Course 33

Friday 21st October - Sunday 30th October

BOOKED OUT

Course 34

Monday 24th October - Friday 28th October

BOOKED OUT

    Got a question?

    Reviews

    star rating  Came here with my mom for a stand up paddle board rental, the staff went above and beyond to be super friendly and the experience was great and good value!

    lizzy
    July 1, 2020

    star rating  We did once off rock pooling and kayaking and it was great fun. The kids had great fun and they allowed me to go ith them too. In the end... read more

    Shyamis
    April 1, 2018

    star rating  Really lovely staff, super friendly. Would highly recommend the kayak and paddle board rentals! Great with a small group or big group.

    megancV1820DD
    June 25, 2020