Keelboat Level 1 | Beginner Sailing

Overview

Course Title: Keelboat Level 1 | Beginner Sailing

Certification: RYA Level 1 Start Sailing Certification

Boat: 26 foot J80 Sportsyacht

Course Duration: 2 days / 4 evenings

Course Times : 9.30am-5pm / Evening courses: 6pm-9pm

Cost: €300

The Start Sailing Course introduces you to the basics of sailing. We offer this course in our fleet of J80 Sportsyachts, which are stable, dry, comfortable and are sailed as part of a team. The course leads to RYA Start Sailing Certification – Keelboat Level 1.

The course runs over two days, from 9.30am until 5pm both days. Evening courses are on Tuesdays 6pm-9pm for four weeks.

Start Sailing Syllabus

We follow the syllabus as laid down by The Royal Yachting Association. The following are all integral parts to the course as we get your sailing career underway!

  • Clothing – What to wear afloat and why.
  • Ropework – We get you up and running with some basic knots.
  • Rigging – How to put the boat together.
  • Weather – What’s good to get out in and ultimately what to avoid!
  • Setting the sails.
  • Steering – getting to grips with the tiller!
  • Wind Direction – how to determine where the wind is coming from.
  • Upwind, downwind and sailing at 90° to the wind!

Our cancellation policy for this course can be viewed here.

To book this course:

Step 1:  Online payment, after which you will receive an email confirmation with a link to an online form.

Step 2:  Submission of the online form.

Your course booking will only be secured once both steps are completed.

Clear

Courses Calendar

Course Date Spaces Left?

Course 1: 18th - 19th March

Saturday 18th March 2023 - Sunday 19th March 2023

12

Course 2: 25th - 26th March

Saturday 25th March 2023 - Sunday 26th March 2023

11

Course 3: 1st - 2nd April

Saturday 1st April 2023 - Sunday 2nd April 2023

3

Course 4: 15th - 16th April

Saturday 15th April 2023 - Sunday 16th April 2023

12

Course 5: 29th - 30th April

Saturday 29th April 2023 - Sunday 30th April 2023

16

Course 6: 6th - 7th May

Saturday 6th May 2023 - Sunday 7th May 2023

4

Course 7: 13th - 14th May

Saturday 13th May 2023 - Sunday 14th May 2023

14

Course 8: 27th - 28th May

Saturday 27th May 2023 - Sunday 28th May 2023

14

Course 8B: 6th – 27th June

Tuesday 6th June 2023 - Tuesday 27th June 2023

16

Course 9: 8th - 9th June

Thursday 8th June 2023 - Friday 9th June 2023

BOOKED OUT

Course 10: 10th - 11th June

Saturday 10th June 2023 - Sunday 11th June 2023

BOOKED OUT

Course 11: 15th - 16th June

Thursday 15th June 2023 - Friday 16th June 2023

15

Course 12: 22nd - 23rd June

Thursday 22nd June 2023 - Friday 23rd June 2023

16

Course 13: 24th - 25th June

Saturday 24th June 2023 - Sunday 25th June 2023

16

Course 13B: 4th -19th July

Tuesday 4th July 2023 - Tuesday 19th July 2023

16

Course 14: 8th - 9th July

Saturday 8th July 2023 - Sunday 9th July 2023

15

Course 15: 22nd - 23rd July

Saturday 22nd July 2023 - Sunday 23rd July 2023

16

Course 16: 29th - 30th July

Saturday 29th July 2023 - Sunday 30th July 2023

16

Course 17: 19th - 20th August

Saturday 19th August 2023 - Sunday 20th August 2023

16

Course 18: 26th - 27th August

Saturday 26th August 2023 - Sunday 27th August 2023

16

Course 19: 9th - 10th September

Saturday 9th September 2023 - Sunday 10th September 2023

16

Course 20: 16th - 17th September

Saturday 16th September 2023 - Sunday 17th September 2023

16

Course 21: 30th September - 1st October

Saturday 30th September 2023 - Sunday 1st October 2023

15

Course 22: 14th -15th October

Saturday 14th October 2023 - Sunday 15th October 2023

12

A 26 foot J80 Sportsyacht which accommodates 4 students and the Instructor/Skipper. The J80 Sportsyacht is easy to manage and cannot capsize. In fact our fleet of J80 Sportsyachts have internal buoyancy tanks fitted so can’t sink either!

All wet gear and safety equipment is provided by us – we provide waterproof clothing and lifejackets. It really is just a case of getting yourself here and letting us do the rest!

Reviews

star rating  I have just done the RYA Competent Crew course here, five-days aboard the 36-foot Beaufort Venture under the guidance of instructor Gary Curran. The whole week surpassed my expectations, and... read more

PatrickKinsella
July 1, 2017

star rating  Really lovely staff, super friendly. Would highly recommend the kayak and paddle board rentals! Great with a small group or big group.

Megan C
June 1, 2020

star rating  Very friendly staff and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend for a day out or lessons. Paddle board and kayak rentals are lots of fun.

Sean
June 1, 2020